After many tests I ran into a setting that seems to work (at least to me) to prevent stuttering and decided to share the same if it helps someone else.
First, get the more recent NVidia driver of course;
On Fallout 4 launcher: As Boris said, set the shadow distance to "medium", this helps a lot. Also disable motion blur and set depth of field to "low", and also helps putting Shadow quality on "high";
On the Fallout4.ini try this: (I am listing only the settings you want to change)
[General]
uGridsToLoad=5
uExterior Cell Buffer=36
iFPSClamp=60
iNumHWThreads=12 (put here your CPU cores count, Hyperthreading included if is a Intel. Is because the default setting of the game is 4 cores, so it may help if you have more than 4 cores)
[Display]
iPresentInterval=0
fShadowLODMaxStartFade=1000.0
fSpecularLODMaxStartFade=2000.0
fLightLODMaxStartFade=3500.0
iShadowMapResolutionPrimary=2048
bNvGodraysEnable=1
bDynamicObjectQueryManager=1
bMultiThreadedAccumulation=1
bMultiThreadedRenderingUNP=1
bMultiThreadedRendering=1
[HAVOK]
bHavokDebug=0
On the Fallout4Prefs.ini:
[Display]
flocalShadowMapHalveEveryXUnit=750.0000
focusShadowMapDoubleEveryXUnit=450.0000
fShadowBiasScale=1.0000
fDirShadowDistance=3000.0000
fShadowDistance=3000.0000
uiOrthoShadowFilter=3
uiShadowFilter=3
iShadowMapResolution=2048
uPipboyTargetHeight=700
uPipboyTargetWidth=876
iVolumetricLightingQuality=3
bVolumetricLightingEnable=1
bSAOEnable=1
iDirShadowSplits=2
bVolumetricLightingForceCasters=1
iTiledLightingMinLights=40
bComputeShaderDeferredTiledLighting=1
iMaxFocusShadowsDialogue=4
iMaxFocusShadows=4
bForceIgnoreSmoothness=0
fBlendSplitDirShadow=48.0000
bSinglePassDirShadow=1
bEnableWetnessMaterials=1
fTessFactorMaxDistanceScale=100.0000
fMeshLODFadePercentDefault=1.2000
fMeshLODFadeBoundDefault=256.0000
fMeshLODFadeScalar=1.0000
fMeshLODLevel2FadeTreeDistance=2048.0000
fMeshLODLevel1FadeTreeDistance=2844.0000
fInteriorMeshLODLevel2FadeDist=1950.0000
fInteriorMeshLODLevel1FadeDist=2600.0000
fMeshLODLevel2FadeDist=999999.0000
fMeshLODLevel1FadeDist=999996.0000 // Attention to this one, is important (and do not put this comment on the INI file)
iMaxAnisotropy=8
iPresentInterval=0
If you are a SLI user, then also do this: Get the "NVidiaInspector" (http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/nvi ... nload.html), find the "fallout 4 profile" and alter this parameters:
SLI compatibility bits (DX1x): 0x080000F5
Antialiasing - Behavior flags: 0x00000005 (Edit: Delivers more performance but is not as good as the "default" godrays)
And I want to make clear I am not saying that this will solve the problems of everybody. This configuration worked on my case and may work for others and is why I'm posting it here.
EDIT: I forgot some details. Also use Enb to limit framerate to 60fps and enable VSync on Enb, Let Enb control the framerate (disable Force VSync on NVidia driver if you are using it). Setting the Video memory on Enb also helps, on my case I are using 4GB.
For SLI users, I are not using the "force AFR2" anymore and seens to be working, and the "antialiasing - behavior flags" edit may help on non-SLI configs (is a try to disable the messy tesselation usage from the GodRays on the game)
EDIT2: After more testing, is clear to me now that the "Antialiasing - Behavior flags" tweak have a catch: It works to get more performance, but the quality is not as good as the "normal" godrays. And removed the part about the sharpening, is to Skyrim not to Fallout 4 (sorry, I mixed the games )
Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
- Author
- Message
-
Offline
- Posts: 13
- Joined: 04 Oct 2015, 22:24
Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
Last edited by TioDrakul on 23 Nov 2015, 00:22, edited 2 times in total.
-
Offline
- *master*
- Posts: 136
- Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 15:24
Re: Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
The game's default setting is 7 cores, not 4. Has there been any proven benefit from setting iPresentInterval off when it's caused so many issues in the past? Some of these values are just being set to the same as default. What is so important about the change to fMeshLODLevel1FadeDist? It's silly to suggest throwing in a whole set of settings when any one of them could cause extra instability if you just changed it without knowing what it does. Specific things would be far better.
_________________
Try my mods! | Resonant ENB for Dragon's Dogma | IAXE2 for Fallout 4 | Luminous ENB for Skyrim SE
Try my mods! | Resonant ENB for Dragon's Dogma | IAXE2 for Fallout 4 | Luminous ENB for Skyrim SE
-
Offline
- Posts: 13
- Joined: 04 Oct 2015, 22:24
Re: Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
A guy made the dump of the game settings and on the same I saw that the standard for cores variable is 4. When you disable the iPresentInterval, you must use another way to control the framerate (the ENB on this case). The reason for this is that the game's default framerate control is bugged and the ENB works better on this. In the case of fMeshLODLevel1FadeDist, the slight change is to try to avoid the bug with the LOD textures, another guy noted that if the values are exactly the same the engine gets confused. And yes, some settings such as shadows are the standard (middle quality) for case who try to use these settings has put other values in them, especially in the case of shadows that seem to be the major cause of performance problems.roxahris wrote:The game's default setting is 7 cores, not 4. Has there been any proven benefit from setting iPresentInterval off when it's caused so many issues in the past? Some of these values are just being set to the same as default. What is so important about the change to fMeshLODLevel1FadeDist? It's silly to suggest throwing in a whole set of settings when any one of them could cause extra instability if you just changed it without knowing what it does. Specific things would be far better.
Finally, I know that these settings can cause instability to other users and so I filled this post with warnings in case you have not noticed, I'm perfectly aware that these settings may not work for everyone and I made it clear that in the text. Does not exist a "miraculous setting" that just it will solve all the problems, what works is the whole set together and so I posted the whole set here.
-
Offline
- *master*
- Posts: 122
- Joined: 17 Mar 2014, 08:00
Re: Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
Interesting. Where was this verified? Do you have a link?TioDrakul wrote:roxahris wrote:When you disable the iPresentInterval, you must use another way to control the framerate (the ENB on this case). The reason for this is that the game's default framerate control is bugged and the ENB works better on this.
-
Offline
- *master*
- Posts: 136
- Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 15:24
Re: Config that MAY work for you on Fallout 4
Why not just list the individual tweaks and provide background on what they do? Where's the information on iPresentInterval being broken, or the posts where people discussed the LOD workaround? Perhaps it seems a pointless fuss, but saying "oh, someone said it was better this way" is the same sort of thinking that led to people telling others to set their Papyrus script budget higher (which made the script engine run slower for no benefit) or to increase iPreloadSizeLimit (only affects startup movies).
_________________
Try my mods! | Resonant ENB for Dragon's Dogma | IAXE2 for Fallout 4 | Luminous ENB for Skyrim SE
Try my mods! | Resonant ENB for Dragon's Dogma | IAXE2 for Fallout 4 | Luminous ENB for Skyrim SE