TES Skyrim 0.196

Forum rules
new topics are not allowed in this subsection, only replies.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 1498
Joined: 31 Mar 2012, 15:06
Location: France

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

Boris
Got it.
Maybe the 1st solution, even if it's slow, will be the less tricky... Or maybe do I think this because I understand it more easily.. :D
Anyway, being able to change shaders ingame would be a HUGE thing.... :shock:
Mindflux did a quick tool that allowed for switching PP methods in the effect.fx, he was on that path, but that was much easier than toggling an entire shader itself.

Say, you were thinking about something with separation of the bloom shader and lens-related effects to another shader... that sounded good as well.

And... while we're at it, no fear sounding stupid :D : could we ever think about cross-defines between shaders ? I mean, could vars from effect.fx react differently to defined vars in bloom.fx for example ?...
Last edited by Oyama on 29 Jul 2013, 09:36, edited 1 time in total.
_________________
Lian Li PC011 Dynamic, Corsair AX 1500i PSU, i9 10850K @5.0 Ghz, Aorus Z490 Ultra, RTX3090 MSI Gaming X Trio, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB RAM@3600, Corsair MP600 1TB NVME System Drive, 10 TB Storage, W10 Pro 64, Custom Hard Tubing Watercooling Loop

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 1938
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 02:08

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

This might be a stupid question to ask but here goes.

How would I go by "attaching" the for example boolean function to the APPLYGAMECOLORCORRECTION command in the enbeffect.fx file so it will be possible to switch it off and on in the new GUI menu?

Or am I missing the whole point of this new feature you've added?

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 1498
Joined: 31 Mar 2012, 15:06
Location: France

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

--JawZ-- wrote:This might be a stupid question to ask but here goes.
No fear sounding stupid !! Just said it my friend !
We'll be both banned at the 4th stupid question in a row. :lol:
_________________
Lian Li PC011 Dynamic, Corsair AX 1500i PSU, i9 10850K @5.0 Ghz, Aorus Z490 Ultra, RTX3090 MSI Gaming X Trio, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB RAM@3600, Corsair MP600 1TB NVME System Drive, 10 TB Storage, W10 Pro 64, Custom Hard Tubing Watercooling Loop

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17524
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

Oyama
I don't see any profit from sharable variables between shaders, only bad side effects.
Separation of lenz reflection and bloom is a big problem for me, don't know how to make them work with existing files. Apply lenz between enbeffectprepass.fx and enbeffect.fx? Btw, probably i need to pass linear depth to alpha channel before enbeffectprepass.fx to reduce reads from depth texture, but same can be done at first pass of dof shader (and then better not depth, but computed blurring factor).

--JawZ--
APPLYGAMECOLORCORRECTION is definition and it only applied at shader compilation stage, so slow, but effective to performance. The simplest way is to replace two lines:

Code: Select all

#define APPLYGAMECOLORCORRECTION
...
#endif //APPLYGAMECOLORCORRECTION
by this:

Code: Select all

if (ApplyGameCC==true)
{
}
and somewhere above in the code declare boolean variable ApplyGameCC. But this isn't fast solution, as i suggested to Oyama, other method works like this:

Code: Select all

technique PostProcess
{
	pass p0
	{
		VertexShader  = compile vs_3_0 VS_QuadLowQuality(QualityGlobalVar);
		PixelShader  = compile ps_3_0 PS_LowQuality();
	}
	pass p1
	{
		VertexShader  = compile vs_3_0 VS_QuadHighQuality(QualityGlobalVar);
		PixelShader  = compile ps_3_0 PS_HighQuality();
	}
}

VS_OUTPUT_POST VS_QuadLowQuality(VS_INPUT_POST IN, uniform bool highquality)
{
	VS_OUTPUT_POST OUT;
	float4	pos=float4(IN.pos.x,IN.pos.y,IN.pos.z,1.0);
	if (highquality==true)
	{
		pos=10.0;//move offscreen
	}
	OUT.vpos=pos;
	OUT.txcoord0.xy=IN.txcoord0.xy;
	return OUT;
}

VS_OUTPUT_POST VS_QuadHighQuality(VS_INPUT_POST IN, uniform bool highquality)
{
	VS_OUTPUT_POST OUT;
	float4	pos=float4(IN.pos.x,IN.pos.y,IN.pos.z,1.0);
	if (highquality==false)
	{
		pos=10.0;//move offscreen
	}
	OUT.vpos=pos;
	OUT.txcoord0.xy=IN.txcoord0.xy;
	return OUT;
}
This code actually draw both high and low quality, but in vertex shader it move quad outside of screen if quality not fit to required (set by QualityGlobalVar boolean). This code is very fast.

EDIT: code not tested, so if it have mistakes, don't complain.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 1498
Joined: 31 Mar 2012, 15:06
Location: France

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

Boris
Hmmmm.... That quad moved outside of screen is interesting, gives me some ideas....
_________________
Lian Li PC011 Dynamic, Corsair AX 1500i PSU, i9 10850K @5.0 Ghz, Aorus Z490 Ultra, RTX3090 MSI Gaming X Trio, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB RAM@3600, Corsair MP600 1TB NVME System Drive, 10 TB Storage, W10 Pro 64, Custom Hard Tubing Watercooling Loop

Offline
User avatar
*sensei*
Posts: 420
Joined: 10 Jun 2012, 12:31
Location: Sweden

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

Boris
Hey.
Will the new memory parameters in .196 somewhat boost my performance with my current rig you think?
  • i5
    8bg RAM
    GTX660 2bg VRAM
    Windows 8 64bit
I haven't noticed any FPS improvement at all. Though I might've tweaked wrong... Or my PC is just too slow. :P

Code: Select all

[GLOBAL]
UsePatchSpeedhackWithoutGraphics=false
UseDefferedRendering=true
ForceFakeVideocard=false
UseEffect=true

[PERFORMANCE]
SpeedHack=true

[MULTIHEAD]
ForceVideoAdapterIndex=false
VideoAdapterIndex=0

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=false
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false

[WINDOW]
ForceBorderless=false
ForceBorderlessFullscreen=false

[ENGINE]
ForceAnisotropicFiltering=true
MaxAnisotropy=16
EnableVSync=true
You've probably seen this already but the lanterns in the Dragonborn DLC have some transparency issues, making objects visible through the lanterns. They also seem to be missing textures.

Image

One more thing... GREAT JOB on the weather systems! Took some time to set it up but I'm more than satisfied with it!
Thank you for all your hard work!
_________________
| i5 | 8gb RAM | GTX660 | Windows 8 | Skyrim on SSD |
My music project, Akira Project, website at Sound Cloud


Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 1509
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 08:37

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=false
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false


No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=false
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false

CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false

CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=true
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false


No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=true
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=false
DisableDriverMemoryManager=true
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=false
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false


CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=true
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=false

CTD (not stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=true
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=true
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

No CTD (stable)

[MEMORY]
ExpandSystemMemoryX64=false
ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true
DisableDriverMemoryManager=false
EnableUnsafeMemoryHacks=true

it slowly becomes obvious how my Skyrim 1.8 (Creation Engine) config is ticking ReduceSystemMemoryUsage seems bad in my System configuration for stable Results.

I have guaranteed a fast CTD with it turned on except when everything is turned on ;)

So i guess for user that are limited on Vram (1 GB) though have a lot of System Ram (8 GB) on a NT 6 64 System they should carefully test this :)

Boris would this be normal expected behavior with low Vram and heavy Mods ?
Last edited by CruNcher on 29 Jul 2013, 16:51, edited 7 times in total.
_________________
85% of graphics research is about who can finally make Sponza look good.
Jasper Bekkers EA/DICE

Perfection is the greatest enemy of photorealism.
Jorge Jimenez Activision Blizzard

Offline
User avatar
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 17524
Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
Location: Rather not to say

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

insomnia_jt
I don't know anything about those bugs and why they appear, try to find yourself which parameter "turn them on" (i don't know where is that dragonborn, only have dlc installed, to tell the truth i don't understand at all how dlc system work, in old times of addons...).
Set this in config ReduceSystemMemoryUsage=true. Performance greater only for bottleneck by cpu, hard to notice on intel platform (speedhack reduce amount of function calls in about 1/5).


I decided to improve declarations of parameters while it's not too late. Added color control string UIWidget="Color";, vector and quality (these are not used in known hlsl parsers). Will publish update soon.
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7

Offline
*sensei*
Posts: 331
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 00:34

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

Wow, thanks Boris! 196 is even smoother than 195. I never seen Riften outside with above 40fps before. This was with only x64 flag true, and any other memory flags being true would lower fps by 10 to 25% and stutter. AMD 7850 2GB.

I see Boris had to deal with another "ST NG: Samaritan Snare" race on how OS handles the memory. The ENB preset modders on Nexus should handle in between, so Boris can concentrate on ENB.
Last edited by skysan4298 on 29 Jul 2013, 13:43, edited 1 time in total.
_________________
AMD R9 6900HX, 16GB DDR5-4800
Win 11Pro 64bit on NvMe, Skyrim on NvMe 2nd partition
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE eGPU v531.209
OrganicENB SE
OrganicENB LE

Offline
*blah-blah-blah maniac*
Posts: 659
Joined: 19 Jul 2013, 13:04

Re: TES Skyrim 0.196

works good, no CTD with everything max out on skyrim ini and ENB settings with over 196 mods. ReduceSystemMemoryUsage doing it jobs really good.
Last edited by charlievoviii on 29 Jul 2013, 23:16, edited 2 times in total.
_________________
W10*I7 6700K*MSI Z170A MPower Gaming Titanium*2x Titan X Pascal*32GB 3600mhz DDR4* 3x 512GB Samsung Pro SSD*ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
ENBSeries wrote: Welcome to AMD world! Don't complains to me, you bought it, have a nice time.
Post Reply