Hey,
Since I wanted to do this little tool anyway, I thought why the hell not share it.
It's basically a glorified black border tools that enable you to input a desired aspect ratio and translate that into black borders on screen. It's then possible to offset those borders and actively "preview" your shot in another aspect ratio. You're then free to either capture and crop with a third party software or if you are feeling like it, quit, change your resolution, and come back to make the shot. Oh well, who am I kidding? It's essentially for those of us who aren't willing to go that extra mile and are just hoping for a dynamic resizer like SRWE to correctly support Fallout 4.
Examples :
"normal, classic HD 16/9 ratio" :
Default 2:35 cinemascope when activated or "Classic" black borders | Default 2:35 with offset
2/3 portrait and 2/3 portrait with offset
More extreme 5:1 ratio, and with offset
So yeah even if it's easier to just fire up xnview, photoshop, or whatever to re-format, it may help to be able to line up the shot as you want before finding out you're just a few pixels short and the subject isn't framed exactly as you wanted.
Enjoy, and happy shooting(s)!
-----
Instructions in the header of the file ( a little borrowed from Kingeric and his magnifying tool )
If there was something to be done for more compatibility or performances, I'll happily take advices !
[Fallout4] Screen archering tools
- Author
- Message
-
Offline
- Posts: 84
- Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15
[Fallout4] Screen archering tools
- Attachments
-
- enbcropassistant.fx
- (4.18 KiB) Downloaded 409 times
Last edited by Wolrajh on 12 Dec 2015, 04:33, edited 1 time in total.
-
Offline
- Posts: 84
- Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15
Re: [Fallout4] Screen archering tools : AR preview
Quick question :
how can we capture the position on screen of the mouse cursor and save that data when clicking ?
I know it worlks with tempInfo1.xy and .w (==1) but my issue is that as soon as I release the button, my float2 variable reverts to 0. Basically I want the tempInfo1.xy to stay until redefined by another click...
how can we capture the position on screen of the mouse cursor and save that data when clicking ?
I know it worlks with tempInfo1.xy and .w (==1) but my issue is that as soon as I release the button, my float2 variable reverts to 0. Basically I want the tempInfo1.xy to stay until redefined by another click...
-
Offline
- *blah-blah-blah maniac*
- Posts: 17560
- Joined: 27 Dec 2011, 08:53
- Location: Rather not to say
Re: [Fallout4] Screen archering tools : AR preview
Okay, i'll probably add another variable for previous position of the cursor. But don't know which one, left click only, right too or even middle (more than 4 vars?).
_________________
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7
i9-9900k, 64Gb RAM, RTX 3060 12Gb, Win7
-
Offline
- Posts: 84
- Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15
Re: [Fallout4] Screen archering tools : AR preview
--- see below --
Last edited by Wolrajh on 12 Dec 2015, 01:56, edited 1 time in total.
-
Offline
- Posts: 84
- Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15
Re: [Fallout4] Screen archering tools : AR preview
So yeah, it works, thanks to Boris adding a new parameter, tempInfo2.xy, in the most recent 0.288 release ( download it again ! )
So I added three parameters to the enbdepthoffield.fx file and slightly modified the code.
It's now possible to set the actual DoF right where we want it independantly of the camera's orientation by just clicking on the subject we want to get in focus.
New piece of code is just :
instead of :
with new user parameters being bAutoFocus as a boolean, and fFocusX and fFocusY as floats ranging from 0.0 to 1.0
[edit: small typo in the file, autofocus was broken. Reuploaded.]
So I added three parameters to the enbdepthoffield.fx file and slightly modified the code.
It's now possible to set the actual DoF right where we want it independantly of the camera's orientation by just clicking on the subject we want to get in focus.
New piece of code is just :
Code: Select all
float2 coord;
if (bAutoFocus == true) // Autofocus or Manual Focus ?
{
coord=float2(fFocusX, fFocusY); // If autofocus, coord refers to X and Y
} else if (tempInfo1.w == 1){ // If Manual, then when clicking somewhere...
coord = tempInfo2.xy; // ... coord gets the cursor position.
}
tempcurr=TextureDepth.SampleLevel(Sampler0, coord, 0.0).x; // Get Depth from coord.
Code: Select all
float2 coord=pos.xy * 0.05;
coord+=IN.txcoord0.xy * 0.05 + float2(0.5, 0.5); //somewhere around the center of screen
float tempcurr=TextureDepth.SampleLevel(Sampler0, coord, 0.0).x;
[edit: small typo in the file, autofocus was broken. Reuploaded.]
- Attachments
-
- enbdepthoffield.fx
- (14.85 KiB) Downloaded 416 times
-
Offline
- Posts: 84
- Joined: 21 Nov 2015, 14:15
Re: [Fallout4] Screen archering tools
A very tiny follow up to the DoF tweak :
Since left click goes through the shader window, the best workaround is simply to ... use right click to set the focus point!
I thought about using the built in detector for an open shader window but really, right clicking is both easier works better.
Instead of :
Just do :
And that's it.
I leave the previous post with left click to set the focus point, just in case.
Since left click goes through the shader window, the best workaround is simply to ... use right click to set the focus point!
I thought about using the built in detector for an open shader window but really, right clicking is both easier works better.
Instead of :
Code: Select all
float2 coord;
if (bAutoFocus == true) // Autofocus or Manual Focus ?
{
coord=float2(fFocusX, fFocusY); // If autofocus, coord refers to X and Y
} else if (tempInfo1.w == 1){ // If Manual, then when clicking somewhere...
coord = tempInfo2.xy; // ... coord gets the cursor position.
}
tempcurr=TextureDepth.SampleLevel(Sampler0, coord, 0.0).x; // Get Depth from coord.
Code: Select all
float2 coord;
if (bAutoFocus == true) // Autofocus or Manual Focus ?
{
coord=float2(fFocusX, fFocusY); // If autofocus, coord refers to X and Y
} else if (tempInfo1.w == 2){ // If Manual, then when clicking somewhere...
coord = tempInfo2.zw; // ... coord gets the cursor position.
}
tempcurr=TextureDepth.SampleLevel(Sampler0, coord, 0.0).x; // Get Depth from coord.
I leave the previous post with left click to set the focus point, just in case.
- Attachments
-
- enbdepthoffield.fx
- (14.85 KiB) Downloaded 364 times